The Information Resource For Accident Victims In Pennsylvania

PennDOT Recommends More Than The Minimum Auto Insurance

PennDOT doesn’t say much in terms of helping consumers decide how much coverage to purchase.

We’ve been recommending¬† buying more than the minimal limits for some¬†time!

Every state has a minimum required amount of auto insurance. Depending on the state, the costs will vary. In Pennsylvania, the state required minimums for liability auto insurance are $15,000 of coverage for injury or death of a single person, $30,000 of coverage for injury or death of multiple people, and $5,000 of property insurance.

According to the PennDOT website, you are in compliance with the law if you have liability insurance in the following amounts:

  • $15,000 for injury or death of one person in an accident
  • $30,000 for injury or death of more than one person in an accident
  • $5,000 for damage to property of another person

Simply put, you should purchase more than the minimum coverage required by law. Optional, yet highly recommended additions to the state minimum are full tort coverage, rather than limited tort, as well as uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. This is separate and apart from liability coverage.

Get Help Now

Carpey Law - Memberships & Recognitions

Logo of at Carpeylaw.comLogo of at Sample image for Teens Against Distracted Driving at Logo of Wounded Warrior Project at Logo of Million Dollar Advocates at Logo - Stuart A. Carpey profile at Justia lawyers Directory Thumb image of Mainline Today Top Lawyer 2012 Thumb image of Suburban Life Awesome Attorney 2012 Stuart A. Carpey is a Top Rated Personal Injury  Attorney BBB rating A+